Showing posts with label Selenium IDE. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Selenium IDE. Show all posts

January 4, 2014

New Features in Selenium IDE (2.5.0)

January 04, 2014 2
I Just noticed on 2nd Jan that a new version of selenium is released. I Just had a glance at release notes there are 3 enhancements and few fixes to existing issues.

But today when I open selenium IDE I saw the enhancements..they are really useful...

Below is Release Notes for 2.5.0













I would like to talk about a new Enhancement:

1. Select an element for a command by clicking on the element in the browser window

This is a new feature added to selenium IDE.

They added new Button Select in the Target field.


How it works:

Select a row in selenium IDE test case Pane
Click on select and move your cursor to the element which you want to locate.

In below example i would like to find locator for "Search Selenium:"


It will automatically identify the xpath or CSS or any other appropriate way to find locator...

Try this feature this is really awesome feature from Selenium.

2. Start playing a test suite from any test case (Using right click menu)

If you already have a test suite in place (Ex: A test suite with  5 test cases) and you want to run from 2nd test case.  The newly added feature supports those kind of requirement.

Just you need to right click on the specific test case in test suite and select Paly Test suite from here. Execution of Test Suite starts from that particular test case.

See below screenshot for more details


3. Add a new test case using a keyboard shortcut (ctrl-N or cmd+N) 

From selenium IDE you can a new test case by using keyboard shrotcut CTRL+N..It will automatically add new test case in selenium IDE.

Hope all these feature are very helpful for selenium IDE users...

HAPPY NEW YEAR...





April 26, 2013

WebDriver Playback in Selenium IDE

April 26, 2013 26
WebDriver Playback in Selenium IDE
Selenium IDE:

As we all know selenium IDE is a plug-in for Firefox and we can record play back in Firefox only but from now on wards we have to modify that statement because test recorded in Firefox can be run in IE and Chrome and other browsers also.


Download the latest version of Selenium IDE (2.9.0)

Below is the Release Notes:


Selenium IDE - Release Notes

  • Enh - Schedule tests for automatic playback at a certain time or periodic intervals. (http://blog.reallysimplethoughts.com/2015/03/09/selenium-ide-scheduler-has-arrived-part-1/)
  • Enh - Allow submission of diagnostic information via a gist.
  • Enh - Improved health logging, including alerts normally hidden.

  • Prerequisites:


    1. Java should be installed in your machine
    2. Download selenium server jar file.

    Set the WebDriver Playback Settings in Selenium IDE

    By default, WebDriver playback is turned off so recording and playback will work as before. To experiment with the WebDriver playback, you need to explicitly turn it on through the WebDriver tab of the Options dialog. To turn on WebDriver playback, check the option Enable WebDriver Playback.
    Then set the Browser to the one you want to use. The choices are android, chrome, firefox, htmlunit, internet explorer, iPhone, iPad and opera.
    Finally restart the Selenium IDE. A restart is required to enable or disable WebDriver Playback. Changing the browser does not require a restart.

    Set up in IDE:

    Part 1:
    1. Open selenium IDE
    2. Go to Options -->Options
    3. Select WebDriver Tab
    4. Check the Enable WebDriver Play back check box
    5. In text box type firefox or internetexplorer or chrome
    6. Click OK
    7. Record a test case in Selenium IDE or open a test case which is already recorded in Selenium IDE.

    Part 2:
    1. Start your selenium server
    2. open comand prompt and navigate to folder where you kept your selenium server and use the below commad to start your selenium server by using below command

    My selenium server jar file is kept in C\Naga\Jar...

    C:\Naga\Jar>java -jar selenium-server-standalone-2.31.0.jar

    Your selenium server will start.

    Then, In Selenium IDE click the run button. Based on the syntax give in options--options---Webdriver your browser will open and will execute the selenium IDE script in that browser.

    Its really awesome feature of Selenium IDE

    For more and detailed description please go through Samit Badle's Blog.

    Below is URL:


    Below are the Limitations:

    Limitations

    This is merely the first step in providing full WebDriver playback. Bugs and limitations are to be expected. I am aware of the following limitations:-
    • Multiple browser windows will be opened and will remain open.
    • Test may not pause or exit on errors.
    • An alert message may pop up for conditions that I have not encountered in my testing.
    • Executing a single command is not yet supported.
    • Highlighting a locator using the Find button may not work.
    • The timeout settings are ignored.
    • Screenshots may not work.
    • User extensions and plugins may not work.
    As you probably know by now, I do not use Selenium IDE myself, so I can only test it a tiny bit. Your help in reporting any issues is always most appreciated.



    NOTE: 
    IF you don't want to use this feature then you need to un check the check box(options--options---Webdriver ) and restart your selenium IDE




    June 22, 2011

    Installing Selenium IDE old version(1.0.10 or 1.0.11) on Mozilla Firefox 4 or 5

    June 22, 2011 1
    Installing Selenium IDE old version(1.0.10 or 1.0.11) on Mozilla Firefox 4 or 5
    Installing Selenium IDE old version(1.0.10 or 1.0.11) on Mozilla Firefox 4 or 5


    If you want to install IDE 1.0.10 version on FF 4 or 5 it will not allow you to install...


    You will get a message not compatible..to avoid that  we need to follow the below steps..


    Installing selenium is simple, all you need is to install Selenium IDE addon to Mozilla Firefox.Download FF latest version(5.0).


    If you want to install Selenium IDE 1.0.10 on Mozilla 4 or 5 you will need one extra steep. You will have to install compatibility addon to Firefox 4 or 5.
    Can be downloaded from Mozilla Firefox Compatibility addon


    Download Selenium IDE from Selenium IDE 1.0.10 and instal it on FF. Now F 4 or 5 will support IDE 1.0.10.



    Give a try.....

    Installing Selenium IDE on Mozilla Firefox 5

    June 22, 2011 5
    Installing Selenium IDE on Mozilla Firefox 5
    Installing selenium is simple, all you need is to install Selenium IDE addon to Mozilla Firefox.Download FF latest version(5.0).


    If you want to install Selenium IDE on Mozilla 5 you will need one extra steep. You will have to install compatibility addon to Firefox 5.
    Can be downloaded from Mozilla Firefox Compatibility addon



    Download Selenium IDE from Selenium site and the version is 1.0.10...


    If you want to install 1.0.12  then no need of this comparability add on--


    IDE version 1.0.12 will support FF5.

    June 13, 2011

    Selenium IDE v1.0.11 NOT Support Changing Formats

    June 13, 2011 4

    Selenium IDE V1.0.11:

    It is not supporting Changing formats option...

    Format option is Grayed out in Version 1.0.11...

    How to Enable it or any alternative to convert the HTML code to desired format..

    How to Enable format Option...

    Open the Options dialog and turn on the Enable experimental features option. 
    Once you turn on the experimental features, you should be able to get formats working again. The Format menu item in the Options menu will no longer be greyed out.
    Format


    Actually Selenium Experts are not recommending to enable this feature, because it is still under development.  

    Alternative way:

    Recommended way is to convert your tests to another language is to use the export feature of Selenium IDE.
    Export Test Case As menu item in the File menu.


    Hope it is useful...